Why worry when we don’t need to?

I was sitting up in our loft area a couple of minutes ago thinking about life and how eventually the rooms we have upstairs with fill up with little munchkins.  I then started thinking about how fast our time on this earth goes!  I often find myself worrying about everyday things that in the grand scheme don’t really matter at all.

This isn’t the first time that I’ve had these thoughts, and I know it won’t be my last time I will think these things.  I’m not even sure why I felt like I needed to write it down this time.  Maybe with recent events in my life it feels even more true than ever? Or maybe I felt like I needed to write this down to get it out of my head and stop dwelling on it.  I don’t really know.

It is just crazy to me how fast stages in our lives go; they are gone before we even know what’s happening.  My life for example, I went to school since I was little, got married, will have kids, will eventually see my kids get married and start their own lives, become a grandmother, and then die.  Of course those last few things are what I hope happen, but it just blows my mind that the end of my life will be here faster than I want it to be.  Morbid, I know, but that’s life.

Lately I’ve also been thinking and struggling a lot about wanting to be someone who matters.  However, being someone who matters depends on what I think matters in life.  I know this.  So I guess what I’ve been struggling with then is figuring out what I think matters in life versus what the world tells me.  I often find myself drawn to the life of a Hollywood star.  Not all of the lifestyle but the fact that people listen when they talk and how much of an impact those people can have.  (Not that all of them use that power for good).

The bible verse for the Chrysalis weekend I was going to work this coming weekend is Philippians 4:6-7.  This verse has kept me going through a lot the past couple of months, and I know that even with all the thinking and worrying I’ve still been doing, even tonight, it will continue to bring me peace.

“Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything.  Tell God what you need, and thank Him for all He has done.  Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything that we can understand.  His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.” -Philippians 4:6-7

Trust In God

 

I have to keep reminding myself that no matter how my life turns out or how long/short my life is that God is on my side, so I have nothing to fear.  Everything will turn out the way it should and when it should.

It’s simple when you think about it.  It’s the application to life that is hard.

 

2 thoughts on “Why worry when we don’t need to?

Leave a comment